Skip to main content

Deadly Getaway (Jenkins & Burns Mysteries Series #2)

Author: Series: Publication Date:
2006 re-issued as an e-book 2012
Holiday/Season/Special Event:
Snow Storm

Originally published by Hilliard & Harris under the title 'Forecast of Evil,' 'Deadly Getaway' is the second in Laura Bradford’s debut Jenkins & Burns mystery series. It was supposed to be a romantic winter getaway complete with snow, sleigh rides, and nights spent by a roaring fire. New Jersey police detective Mitch Burns and newspaper reporter Elise Jenkins are trading one tourist town for another by heading to a remote Michigan island to relax and enjoy. Unfortunately a killer has other plans. When a body is found under two feet of snow, stabbed, Jenkins and Burns once again need to put their sleuthing skills to the test. As a blizzard descends, the island is completely cut off from the outside world and terror mounts while a serial killer plays a frightening game of cat-and-mouse with the island as his playground.