The English Mysteries

You are here

Marjorie Owen
Detective & Police & Gov't Agency
Series takes place in: 

View books in this series below!

Marjorie Owen wrote two mystery novels in The English Mystery Series. LADIES OF CLASS and THE POISON PEN. They feature Detective Chief Inspector Richard Hayward in two intriguing whodunits.

The novels themselves have great reviews on Amazon but the most interesting story is how her books came to be published.

Marjorie lived a full and rich life in England. When Marjorie passed away in 2004 at the age of 93 her son Mike Owen discovered a box full of his Mum's writings. Although he knew that she had written a couple of stories he had no idea how extensive her writings were. Over several years Mike's wife Dee Owen transcribed Marjorie's handwritten books and published them on Amazon.

Here is an excerpt from Amazon about Marjorie Owen written by her son Mike Owen...

My Mum, Marjorie, was born on September 11th 1911 in England and endured the bombardment of World War II. As far as I know, she was born out-of-wedlock with an Irish Lord for a father and a Russian princess as her mother. I have no idea who took her after she was born but it was not her true parents. Although her life before my birth and working is somewhat sketchy, her career, as a major London department store clothing buyer, was long and interesting. Members of the Royal family were among some of her more famous clients. Marjorie found time to write many short stories and four novels ranging from romance to mystery. She did not attempt to publish any of her writings. We can only surmise that she wrote for the joy and did not wish to seek any recognition or fame...

Purchase at Amazon: